Time Management

Time Management for sales people is one of the most important subjects to master. I’ve recently read a book by Dave Kahl entitled:

10 Secrets of Time Management for Salespeople

This book gave me some valuable insight to the methodology of a career minded sales professional. Dave Kahl has been in sales for over 30 years and I do recommend this book to anyone looking to become more effective with their time.

Here are a few of the things I learned by reading this book:

  1. Get grounded. (For me this meant to get over myself. I’ll tell you more about that in a later post.)
  2. Think about it before you do it. (This is all about planning. You’d be amazed at how much more effective you will become when you plan your work. It goes further than simply making daily to-do lists.)
  3. Create systems. (What a concept! It’s almost so simple you overlook it. Most every desired result can be broken into parts that create a system. Start with the output if you have to. Input, process, output, tools, discipline.)

Dave has included what he calls ‘Tips from the Troops’. I’ve listed a few of my favorites below:

· Call yourself and leave a voice-mail message. Then listen critically. Would you return a call to this person? You can improve your results by practicing and refining your messages as you listen to your messages to yourself.

· Have lunch with prospects. This is one of your best uses of time. You’ll eliminate the need for an additional sales call during the day, and you’ll develop a more personal relationship.

· Before every meeting, distribute a written agenda with an estimated ending time.

· Launch the new habit strongly.

· Always leave a message on a voicemail. Every time your customer hears your name, it registers—like a repeat advertising impression.

· Just do it. Indecision is a big waste of time.

 

These are just a few of his tips. I won’t go into great detail about the contents of the book because I want you to go buy it. I truly believe you will find it a valuable use of your money and time. As I implement the lessons I’ve learned from Dave I will talk more about each one.

 

If you want to know more about Mr. Kahle click here.

 

P.S. – If you don’t have the money for the book, go to his site anyway. He has a ton of articles available free of charge!

 

Until next time…

 

Keith Porterfield

a Student of Sales

Leave a Reply

