Where have you been?

I am reminded of a time when I was a young teenager. I had my alarm clock set to play the radio at some point in the morning hours.  One particular morning, the d.j. must have taken an extended cigarette break or what have you. Kathy Mattea sang “Where have you been” over and over and over for the whole hour my alarm clock played.  For this reason, I have always remembered the chorus. For balance, I looked up the lyrics. They are as follows:

Claire had all but given up
When she and Edwin fell in love
She touched his face and shook her head
In disbelief she sighed and said
In many dreams I’ve held you near
Now at last you’re really here

Chorus
Where have you been?
I’ve looked for you for ever and a day
Where have you been?
I’m just not myself when you’re away

He asked her for her hand for life
Then she became a salesman’s wife
He was home each night by 8
But one stormy evening he was late
Her frightened tears fell to the floor
Until his key turned in the door

Chorus

They’d never spent a night apart
For 60 yrs she heard him snore
Now they’re in a hospital
In seperate beds on different floors

Claire soon lost her memory, forgot the names of family
She never spoke a word again
Then one day they wheeled him in
He held her hand and stroked her hair
In a fragile voice she said

Chorus

Where have you been
Ive searched for you forever and a day
Where have you been
Im just not myself when your away
Im just not myself when your away

So, I’ve been away for a while. I’m back. Do you think we can all get back to being ourselves now? I hope so, because December was a huge slump for me! I probably won’t say anymore about that, because I definitely don’t want to relive it.

Until Next Time…

Keith Porterfield

A Student of Sales

Leave a Reply

